Victory team make winning start in Speed Cat run

Having watched their near rivals Team Abu Dhabi take the headlines in qualifying, team Victory powered back in superb fashion to win the Dubai Duty Free Speed Ca Run at the opening round of the 2016 UIM XCAT World Series in Fujairah.

Despite being current champions, Team Abu Dhabi’s performance in qualifying had made them to the team to beat in the first competitive XCAT race of 2016.

However, when it came down to endurance and raw speed, Victory had all the answers. Here’s how they won the DDF Speed Cat run.

  • Round 1 – Swecat (Mikael Bengtsson and Erik Stark)
  • Round 2 – Team Abu Dhabi 4 (Majed Al Mansoori and Rashed Al Qamzi)
  • Semi Final – T-Bone Station (Giovanni Carpitella and Marco Pennesi)
  • Final – Six (Matteo Nicolini and Tomaso Polli)

T-Bone Station pushed Victory all the way in the semi-final, but it was Six who were the surprise package. The team produced a number of superb performances to beat the impressive Team Australia (Brett Luhrmann and Pal Virik Nilsen), the pole-sitters Team Abu Dhabi 5 (Rashed Al Tayer and Faleh Al Mansoori) and Lady Spain (Jay Price and Sean Torrente) to set up a final with Victory.

In the third placed play-off, T-Bone Station proved too good for Lady Spain to take the last step on the podium.

Interestingly, two thirds of the top three were occupied by boats with two-stroke engines not the new four-stroke Mercury engines.

About Richard Carr

Richard Carr, of Poole, is one of the UK’s most experienced and successful powerboat racers, who has competed in the sport globally.

He has won numerous domestic and international honours: he became British Class 1 Champion in 1991; he was the winner of the coveted Needles Trophy and he also came second in the Cowes Torquay Cowes race in 1992. It was the year the race was controversially competed in the fog and it has been argued for many years that he actually won the race.

He is known in the sport for his aggressive racing character in rough seas and recently raced in the USA for Geico in 2011.


Warning: include(/index.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /homepages/9/d542973572/htdocs/app543768771/wp-content/plugins/social-share-button/includes/class-shortcodes.php on line 41

Warning: include(): Failed opening '/index.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php7.3') in /homepages/9/d542973572/htdocs/app543768771/wp-content/plugins/social-share-button/includes/class-shortcodes.php on line 41