Team Abu Dhabi record back to back victories

Team Abu Dhabi – and particularly duo Gary Ballough and John Tomlinson – were no doubt in dreamland after recording back to back victories on the first weekend of the UIM Class 1 World Championship, writes Richard Carr.


For the American duo, who recorded full honours in the first race, it was the perfect weekend in Salerno, Italy.

Team spokesman Salem Al Remeithi told “This has been a fantastic few days for Team Abu Dhabi and a perfect way to start the season. The team is very focussed and we really feel we can win the Championship this year.”

Once again they began on pole and took full advantage of it to finish first ahead of a resurgent Arif Al Zaffain and Nadir bin Hendi in their loaned Victory boat. It was a reassuring finish for the Victory team who had qualified fourth and finished fifth in the first race. However, considering the domination of Team Abu Dhabi they have a lot of work on their hands if they are to keep their crown.

Early pace setters

The results from both races puts Team Abu Dhabi 6 (Ballough & Tomlinson) in first place with a maximum 40 points. In bringing T-Bone Station home in third, Miles Jennings and Giovanni Carpitella currently sit joint second with the second Abu Dhabi boat of Majid Al-Mansoori and Rashid Al-Tayer.

Victory follow in fourth joint with Zabo Racing.

Championship standings

2015 Salerno Grand Prix – Race 2 result / V1

  1. Chaudron – Aaron Chiantar (MLT)/Dominque Martini (FRA)
  2. RG87 Karelpiu – Federico Montanari (ITA)/Giuseppe Schiano (ITA)
  3. Bernico New Star – Nico Bertels (BEL)/D Vandyshev (RUS)

2015 Salerno Grand Prix – Pole Position 2 / C1

  1. Abu Dhabi 6 – Gary Ballough (USA)/John Tomlinson (USA) – 2:29.1s
  2. T-Bone Station – Giovanni Carpitella (ITA)/ Miles Jennings (GBR) – 2:32.1s
  3. Abu Dhabi 5 Majid Al-Mansoori (UAE)/Rashid Al-Tayer (UAE) – 2:33.1s
  4. Victory – Arif Saif Al-Zafeen (UAE)/Nadir bin Hendi (UAE) – 2:34.0s
  5. Energima Zabo Racing – Christian Zaborowski (NOR)/Niclas Johansson (SWE) – 2:37.4s

2015 Salerno Grand Prix – Pole Position 2 / V1

  1. RG87 Karelpiu – Federico Montanari (ITA)/Giuseppe Schiano (ITA) – 3:00.0s
  2. Chaudron – Aaron Chiantar (MLT)/Dominque Martini (FRA) – 3:23.2s

Warning: include(/index.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /homepages/9/d542973572/htdocs/app543768771/wp-content/plugins/social-share-button/includes/class-shortcodes.php on line 41

Warning: include(): Failed opening '/index.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php7.3') in /homepages/9/d542973572/htdocs/app543768771/wp-content/plugins/social-share-button/includes/class-shortcodes.php on line 41