Team Abu Dhabi claim UIM F1 H20 title

Alex Carella and Thani Al-Qamzi joined forces to claim the UIM F1 H20 World Championship title for the first time in Team Abu Dhabi’s history, writes Richard Carr.

Carella seals title

Despite missing out on personal glory with a second placed finish in the Drivers’ Championship, the Italian’s second place finish in the Grand Prix of Sharjah was enough to secure the team’s first ever title.

The season’s traditional finale saw EMIC Team’s Marit Stromoy seal a stunning victory despite the strong attentions of Carella.


Marit Stromoy’s victory in Sharjah was the first for a women in F1 history with the Norwegian holding her nerve during the closing stages to keep an advancing Carella at bay.

Marit Stromoy was the quickest of the 17 F1 drivers who took to the water during Friday morning’s official practice session. The Norwegian ran for 18 laps and posted a best tour of 47.46sec. Al-Qamzi and Carella ran for 12 and 11 laps respectively to work on their boat set-ups for the race.

2015 Grand Prix of Sharjah – result:

  1. Marit Stromoy (NOR) EMIC Team – 43 laps
  2. Alex Carella (ITA) Team Abu Dhabi – @ 4.70sec
  3. Shaun Torrente (QAT) Victory Team – @ 12.73 sec
  4. Erik Stark (SWE) Emirates Team – @ 16.50 sec
  5. Sami Selio (FIN) Mad-Croc Baba Racing Team – @ 18.34 sec
  6. Jonas Andersson (SWE) Team Sweden – @ 50.21 sec
  7. Ahmed Al-Hameli (ARE) Emirates Team – L1
  8. Jesper Forss (SWE) Team Sweden – L1

2015 UIM F1 H2O Teams’ Championship – final standings

  1. Team Abu Dhabi – 88 pts
  2. CTIC China Team – 71 pts
  3. Team EMIC – 56 pts
  4. Mad-Croc Baba Racing Team – 54 pts
  5. F1 GC Atlantic Team – 47 pts
  6. Team Sweden – 44 pts
  7. Emirates Team – 36 pts
  8. Victory Team – 33 pt

About Richard Carr

Richard Carr, of Poole, is one of the UK’s most experienced and successful powerboat racers, who has competed in the sport globally.

He has won numerous domestic and international honours: he became British Class 1 Champion in 1991; he was the winner of the coveted Needles Trophy and he also came second in the Cowes Torquay Cowes race in 1992. It was the year the race was controversially competed in the fog and it has been argued for many years that he actually won the race.

He is known in the sport for his aggressive racing character in rough seas and recently raced in the USA for Geico in 2011.

Warning: include(/index.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /homepages/9/d542973572/htdocs/app543768771/wp-content/plugins/social-share-button/includes/class-shortcodes.php on line 41

Warning: include(): Failed opening '/index.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php7.3') in /homepages/9/d542973572/htdocs/app543768771/wp-content/plugins/social-share-button/includes/class-shortcodes.php on line 41