Tapp holds off Julius to deliver Thundercat title

Late last month, James Tapp’s consistent performances in this year’s 2015 Thundercat Championship earned him the title, writes Richard Carr.

Close call

Bligh Julius’ and Charlie Hatfield’s seventh consecutive win of the season at Cornwall wasn’t enough to earn them the title, with the pair rueing a poor start to the campaign.

Tapp’s and teammate Ed Redman’s second place finish was enough to land them the Driver and Co-Driver titles.

Speaking after landing the title, Tapp said: “Team 33 pushed us hard in the second half of the season, it made it really interesting, Ed and I have to thank Vee Ganjavian and Microlink for their fantastic support.”

Dream debut

Team Hoonigan – Ahmad Tea enjoyed a brilliant debut season with the Welsh pairing of Rob Davies and Darren Philips mixing consistency with speed to take a superb third place finish. David said: “We are totally thrilled with the result, this is a great present to our sponsors Ahmad Tea who have backed our 2015 challenge.”

Despite winning seven consecutive races, Julius was well aware his team’s pair start cost them a shot at the title: “Seven wins in a row is great, but in all honesty, we knew it was going to be next to impossible to catch James and Ed for the Team Title. Charlie and I want to take this run of form into the World Championships to be held in Malta in a few weeks’ time.”

Round 14 – 2015 RYA P750 Championship

1st #33 Team 33 – Multispark Racing Products Bligh Julius & Charlie Hatfield

2nd #22 Microlink – Ahmad Tea James Tapp & Ed Redman

3rd #4 Hoonigan – Ahmad Tea / Rob Davies & Darren Phillips

2015 RYA P750 Championship ThunderCat Team Championship

1st #22 Microlink – Ahmad Tea James Tapp & Ed Redman

2nd #33 Team 33 – Multispark Racing Products Bligh Julius & Charlie Hatfield

3rd #4 Hoonigan – Ahmad Tea / Rob Davies & Darren Phillips

About Richard Carr

Richard Carr, of Poole, is one of the UK’s most experienced and successful powerboat racers, who has competed in the sport globally.

He has won numerous domestic and international honours: he became British Class 1 Champion in 1991; he was the winner of the coveted Needles Trophy and he also came second in the Cowes Torquay Cowes race in 1992. It was the year the race was controversially competed in the fog and it has been argued for many years that he actually won the race.

He is known in the sport for his aggressive racing character in rough seas and recently raced in the USA for Geico in 2011.

Warning: include(/index.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /homepages/9/d542973572/htdocs/app543768771/wp-content/plugins/social-share-button/includes/class-shortcodes.php on line 41

Warning: include(): Failed opening '/index.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php7.3') in /homepages/9/d542973572/htdocs/app543768771/wp-content/plugins/social-share-button/includes/class-shortcodes.php on line 41