Powerboat racers honoured at annual RYA Powerboat Racing Awards

Earlier this month more than 50 awards were presented at this year’s Royal Yachting Association (RYA) Powerboat Racing Awards, in celebration of the 2014 season.

200 guests attend annual ceremony

The Novotel hotel in Southampton provided the venue for over 200 racers, friends, family and supporters to converge and celebrate the successes from the 2014 season. In total, over 50 awards were presented to last season’s most successful racers.

Hosted by former racer and team owner Grant Harrison and former Lancashire Powerboat Club Commodore Ruth Morse, the pair were joined on stage by special guest and former Top Gear presenter Tiff Needell.

Youngsters recognised

As well as celebrating the efforts and achievements of the sport’s more senior competitors, the evening also paid tribute to powerboat racing’s younger competitors.

Awards were presented to the likes of Ben Jelf, Jessica Stoneman and Thomas Mantripp, who all collected winner’s titles during the course of last season.

“Youth racing in becoming even more popular and the standard is phenomenal. It gives a really strong sense of a great future for the sport”, commented Jeni Jelf.

“The Powerboat Racing Awards is extremely important as they recognise the achievements and hard work that all the teams and crews put in to their race season”, added Jelf.

2014 Champions

Trophy Recipient
RYA British 200 P1 AquaX Champion Damien Evans
RYA PGP F4s British Champion & RYA PGP F4s Sprint Champion Ben Morse
RYA British Zapcat ZCR50X Speed Record at 44.13mph David Finlayson
RYA PGP GT15 British Champion Thomas Mantripp
RYA Anne Robinson Best New Comer Kayleigh Priestley
RYA PGP GT30 Sprint Champion Jessica Stoneman
RYA GPA British Club Champions Jacques Vermeulen & Pierre Vermeulen
UKOBA Sword of Honour Asif Rangoonwala & Powerboat P1
RYA British Zapcat ZCR50X Champions David Finlayson & Ashleigh Finlayson
RYA PGP O/Hydro British Champion Wayne Turner
RYA British Thundercat P750 Pro-Stock Team Championship Team 33


UIM World & RYA British Portland-Rockhall-Portland Record – 1,422nm in 53 hrs, 29 mins & 52 secs Richard Reddyhoff, Ed Gilliver, Jan Falkowski, Mike Townshend, Sebastian Coulthard
RYA PGP T850 British Champion & RYA PGP T850 Sprint Champion Bill Owen
RYA Ian Stirling Memorial Award Paul Mahy
2014 RYA British 0850 Speed Record at 100.05mph & K7 Gold Star Recipient Ben Morse
RYA V24 British Champion Dan Priestley
2014 RYA British 3A Speed Record at 70.95mph John Guille
RYA British Thundercat P750 Pro-Stock Driver & Co-Driver Champions Bligh Julius & Charlie Hatfield
RYA PGP GT30 British Champion & RYA PGP GT15 Sprint Champion Ben Jelf
RYA British Zapcat ZCR50 Speed Record at 43.53 mph Simon Matthews
BJ Noone Award Ben Morse
RYA British 250 P1 AquaX Champion 2014 Duncan Johnstone
2014 UIM World & RYA British S1000 Speed Record at 70.45mph Sam Whittle
RYA Class 3A British Champions Kevin Edmondson & Annika Hawthorne
RYA Offshore Sponsorship Award Vahid Ganjavian
RYA P1 250 British Champions James Norvil & Christian Parsons-Young
RYA Marathon B British Champions 2014 Peter Dredge, Simon Powell, Mal Crease
RYA PGP F2 British Champion & RYA PGP F2 Sprint Champion Paul Balfour
UIM F250 European Champion Wayne Turner
UIM GT30 European Champion Ben Jelf
UIM 3A World Champions John Guille & Tom William-Hawkes
RYA Tony Needell Award Sally Windsor

About Richard Carr 

Richard Carr is one of the UK’s most experienced and successful powerboat racers, who has competed in the sport globally.

He has won numerous domestic and international honours: he became British Class 1 Champion in 1991; he was the winner of the coveted Needles Trophy and he also came second in the Cowes Torquay Cowes race in 1992. It was the year the race was controversially competed in the fog and it has been argued for many years that he actually won the race.

He is known in the sport for his aggressive racing character in rough seas and recently raced in the USA for Geico in 2011.


Warning: include(/index.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /homepages/9/d542973572/htdocs/app543768771/wp-content/plugins/social-share-button/includes/class-shortcodes.php on line 41

Warning: include(): Failed opening '/index.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php7.3') in /homepages/9/d542973572/htdocs/app543768771/wp-content/plugins/social-share-button/includes/class-shortcodes.php on line 41

28 Replies to “Powerboat racers honoured at annual RYA Powerboat Racing Awards”

  1. Pingback: viagra non prescription

  2. Pingback: Buy viagra in canada

  3. Pingback: viagra on sale in usa

  4. Pingback: no prescription cialis

  5. Pingback: ciprofloxacin price without insurance

  6. Pingback: generic ventolin

  7. Pingback: naltrexone otc

  8. Pingback: cialis over the counter 2020

  9. Pingback: generic for cialis

  10. Pingback: cialis for sale

  11. Pingback: bimatoprost generic best price

  12. Pingback: tylenol stock price

  13. Pingback: buy generic 100mg viagra online

  14. Pingback: chloroquine cost

  15. Pingback: viagra 50mg

  16. Pingback: viagra 50mg

  17. Pingback: viagra for sale

  18. Pingback: pills for ed

  19. Pingback: cheapest ed pills online

  20. Pingback: best ed medication

  21. Pingback: canada pharmacy

  22. Pingback: buy levitra

  23. Pingback: vardenafil 20 mg

  24. Pingback: purchase viagra without a prescription

  25. Pingback: real money casino games

  26. Pingback: cialis online no prescription

  27. Pingback: online casinos usa

  28. Pingback: real online casino

Comments are closed.